The Iron Lady I knew

We stood next to her hospital bed and watched her breathe laboriously but slowly. We knew the time had come and we just stood next to her holding her hand, smoothing her forehead or comforting her chest. The pulse oximeter was showing a gradual drop in numbers, 67…61…58…45… and suddenly just a ‘?’. There was a flat line and we expectantly waited for her to gasp and take a breath but it never came. Just like that, she was gone. 

25 years ago my parents asked me to choose between three proposals to get married. All three potential grooms were software engineers working in the USA. They came home to see me with my parents. When they left the choice to me, I told them I want to marry Sanjay. Everyone was happy with my decision and asked me what made me zero in on him, pat came my answer “I like his parents, they seem to be forward thinkers, I am sure they brought up a good human and I know I will be happy in that house”. Everyone was shocked that I was marrying because I liked the in-laws. 25 years later, I can say that my decision was right. 

My mother in law herself was an amazing human and her recent passing has left a deep void in everyone’s life that she touched. She was the foundation on which the entire family stood and everyone looked up to her for strength and comfort. I grew to respect and admire her more as time passed and I have learned so much from her over the years.  She led by example and all I did was watch and learn over the years. The dignity with which she conducted her life until her final days is inspiring. She would always say that all that she wants is for her whole family to be with her, around her, when she passes. And just as she willed it happened. We were all around her, with her, holding her hand during her last few days.

Family always came first and she was fiercely protective of everyone. The only thing that made her immensely happy was to have everyone around her, laughing and talking. She would cook these amazing dishes for everyone and even though she was a vegetarian, she had no problem cooking some elaborate meat recipes for the family. Her signature dishes like Gongura Mutton, Mutton Dum Biriyani, Dum-Ka-Chicken, Fish Pulusu, Pulagam, Borugulu Upma, Keema Untalu were delicious, delectable, mouthwatering, tasty, lip-smacking, yummy, wonderful in taste and aroma. We grew up loving her dishes and that transferred to her grandkids, who placed demands on her every time they visited. 

She was instrumental in instilling in me the importance of taking care of oneself, no matter the age or how busy life gets, she always encouraged making time for the self. No matter what was going on around the house, in between all of the daily routines, she made time for her self to do things that would make her happy. Be it taking care of her emotional well being by spending time praying or taking care of her physical self with some healthy routines. She insisted on making time for walks, yoga and even the parlor to color those few grey strands or a pedicure to soften the cracks on her heels. She would often call me asking what she should do for dark circles or reduce pigmentation or soften hands. I would research the best products and send them her way and she would give me her reviews on how well they worked or not!

Another thing I loved about her, was how she allowed everyone to be themselves. She was very accepting of people’s personalities and didn’t try to change that. I would often lament to her that I am not very verbose in my affections and she would quickly dismiss it and say that it doesn’t matter because even if I can’t express in words, I was very frank and the honesty of my affections comes across without words. She would often tell me that like me, she also had a problem being diplomatic because she had the habit of saying things as they are. She would say she can’t be like other people who say one thing to the face and another behind the back. She despised such people and spoke less to them or about them. And she was true to her word. I have never heard her gossip about anyone, she stuck to more facts and fewer opinions. She always had a few strong words to say to any family member who tried to gossip in front of her! Some of us have been on the receiving end of her sermons.

The piousness with which she conducted her life was above par. Her life revolved around many many religious tasks every day. She started and ended her day in the name of God. Once she showered and got dressed for her daily rituals, none of us were allowed to touch her until she finished her prayers. She would just sit for hours chanting prayers, decorating the many gods and praying for the well being of her family. One of her last physical acts before she passed is a testimony to how connected she felt to her God. On the last day that she was conscious in the hospital, I remember that she was in and out of consciousness and was barely moving. At some point that evening Sanjay came and stood by her bed and took out his phone and showed her a picture of Sai Baba. He called out to her and said: “Amma look this is Sai Baba, your favorite God.” She opened her eyes, looked at the phone and then she slowly raised both her hands, which were covered with IV lines, band-aids and the pulse oximeter, touched the phone in a revering manner, folded her palms to a Namaste and closed her eyes. She never opened her eyes again and passed away the next day. Such was her attachment to her God.

She was one of the strongest women I knew. All through her life, she showed that grit when dealing with any calamity that befell the family. She would give us strength by saying “Everything would be ok”. She would say that and go on some extra fasting or another elaborate pooja spree to pray for our well-being. Even after she was diagnosed with cancer, she took it in stride and went through the treatments in a dignified manner. We respected her wishes by not telling friends and relatives which allowed her to interact with them normally. She told us that she would prefer not having people call her, cry about her condition and depress her more. So when I made my daily call to her on my way to work, the first 30 seconds was her giving me an update about her health and the next 30 minutes we talked about random stuff, joking and laughing as normal.

During her final days, while she was in the hospital, the doctors had given up all hope and told us that she would pass in a day or two at the most but she held through for seven days. The doctors were surprised and attributed it to her fighting spirit but others had a different opinion. Being a Sai Baba and an Ammavaru devotee a close friend told us that she is waiting to pass on an upcoming auspicious day. We were all skeptical about the power of one choosing their own time of death. But she held through and she did. She passed, according to the Hindu calendar on the most auspicious day and time. That moment that came between a Thursday and a Friday, a day that was important to her Sai Baba and also her Ammavaru, a day called Ekadasi (the eleventh lunar day of each of the two lunar phases which occur in a Hindu calendar month) is considered to be a very spiritual day and an auspicious time, called the Brahma Muhurtham or the ‘Creator’s Hour’. According to Hindu scriptures, a passing during this period grants you direct entry into heaven with no rebirths. She passed away at 3.02 am on Friday morning of Ekadasi. As unbelievable as it may sound, she seemed to have timed her own passing from this world. 

She has left a big void in our lives and we will all truly miss her. I am still reeling from the loss and it still hasn’t sunk in that she will not come out to greet us when we walk in the door no matter the time. The tyranny of her empty room devastates us.  Every time I think the tears are done, a few find their way out again. We are overwhelmed but not surprised at the outpouring of love, thoughts, and prayers that people have offered over the past couple of weeks. Many have shared the stories they share with her and we are amazed to see how many lives she has touched. 

 It’s going to take a long time for the family to recover from this. Although we had a year to prepare for this, you can never ever be prepared for such a final loss. This is a terrible long defeat for all of us as a family. Rest in peace athamma.

This is one of the last pictures we took of her at home before she left for the hospital; two of her grandkids walking her back to her room at 4 am the night we landed.

30 thoughts on “The Iron Lady I knew

  1. Dear Sashi

    Very sorry to hear about the demise of your mom in law. Sadder that you have lost an amazing human being who left a deep impact on you and the family. Please convey our condolences to Sanjay too.

    I am sure it must be hard to take such a loss. I am sure you are all blessed to have spent your lives with a woman with a broad outlook , deep faith in the Supreme will, lofty values and a cheerful spirit. Ekadashi and Brahma Muhurtham without a doubt signify a soul that has merged with the Almighty.

    Your article reveals how close you were to her and how open you have been to her influence.

    I pray for strength for all of you to deal with this deep loss. I am sure her memories will continue to nourish and support you all .

    Love Jayanthi

    >

    • Thank you for your kind words Jayanthi.
      Yes, its a huge loss for the family and she was gone too soon. I will pass on your message to Sanjay.

  2. Sashi…As curious i was to know what your write up was about, it died down the moment i saw auntys pic and the first few lines, my heart sank and eyes teared in calmness with a goodbye to beloved aunty who came and blessed me on my engagement.
    But your words have beautifully expressed your relationship with her and her wonderful strong, composed and affectionate personality.
    Blessed are you to have received her love, support and of all her blessed journey of life.
    Aunty…May your soul rest in peace and love you always. 🙇‍♀️🙇‍♀️.

    • Thank you Niru. She always remembered you fondly and never failed to ask me ‘ how are the twin girls doing’ . Thank you for your kind words. It’s truly a loss for us.

  3. Sashi
    You’ve expressed your feelings so well! Reading your blog made me tear up. I’ve known her all my life and do share a special relationship. We’ve had our ups and downs, challenges and reconciliations. During all those, I always knew that she was fair and fantastic! It truly is a loss for the entire family. Hope her soul is in heaven and we will find a way to move on. Truly blessed to have her in my life!
    Thank you for sharing!

  4. Sashi, so so sorry to hear about Aunty! May her soul rest in peace and may you and your family gain the strength to deal with the loss.
    You brought her to life with your memories of her and your eulogy to the wonderful relationship you both had.
    She was an amazing lady. I have few but fond memories of her and her fun loving nature.

  5. So beautifully written Sashi ! I remember her beautiful smiling face. She looked even more beautiful with her out pouring affection and love towards everybody. It brought back memories of my sister’s last days at the hospital who also left with such grace and dignity. With her prayers and love, she has attained the ultimate 🙏🏼 💕

    • Thanks Bhavana. I know you can relate to this. No matter how much advance notice you get, its still a shock when it actually happens. The void is hard to fill.

  6. So heart touching and true Sashi.
    She was the stern iron lady who always dressed impeccably but with a heart of gold. I never made a major effort to connect to my paternal side after I got married which I do regret ..but .. I never realized that she made such an impact in my life. Miss her dearly. I’m overwhelmed with so many emotions reading your writeup. Shashi, Bhargavi, and Suchi​..​.she beat you girls hollow with her style of dressing or maintaining her self…♥

    Regards,
    Chinni Oblum

  7. Very well written Sashi, from her first visit to California, I had some fondness toward her. She is one of the few people who understood others from their point of view.

    – Suma Gundala

  8. Well written Sashi. Your write up wakened my thoughts about pinni and yes my association with Gundala family was not much but my trip to Ooty with cousins and how she led the team is a remembrance also a night stay at your parents’ place on our return.

    – Anu Oblum

  9. Truly touched by your honest, sincere and wonderful memories and thoughts about her.
    Though this void cannot be filled but we all pray God to give you all strength to overcome the grief… I am sure she is already at peace.🙏🏼

    – Kiranmai Chodavarapu

  10. Sashi, thank you for helping me experience the final days of your time with Sanjay’s mother. As if you have been writing a blog for all of these years, to deliver this one with such dignity and such warmth. Let Baba, pillar of her strength, give all of you the strength to get through the loss. Please pass this onto Sanjay.

    – Sridhar Seetharaman

  11. Wonderful
    Beautifully expressed!

    Didn’t know much about her past but could feel or I would say lived almost everything Sashi has expressed as I read through with watery eyes.
    I m sure her soul is in peace up there and showering her blessings on u and the entire family.
    🙏

    – Devaki

  12. Loved reading the article… Sashi touched each part
    Of Aunty .. I still remember her smile n her warmth… I know it’s hard to fill the void….but you have the beautiful memories of Aunty….

    – Anitha Isaac

  13. 😥 Very heart touching, emotional, nicely expressed! Will always miss Aunty ji. Feel lucky to have spent some time with her. 🙏

    – Aradhana Sharad

  14. Very nicely written
    Aunty is a great soul and she is Blessings from you and your family from there 🙏

    – Sundari Natarajan

  15. Beautifully written.
    She sure is in peace.
    Am glad we could spend some time with her. I still keep remembering the dinner Tanya took with her in the kitchen. 🙏

    – Nehal

  16. Very nicely written sashi. May aunty’s soul Rest In Peace. My prayers for your family.🙏

    – Nisy Anthony

  17. Super blog. What an inspiration. She must have been really blessed to have chosen the auspicious day n time. It’s a miracle n her relationship with God. May her soul rest in peace. We will pray for your family members that God may give strength to overcome this loss.

    – AshaLatha

  18. Shashi, a wonderful tribute to your mom in law who has instilled so many values in you and your family, that will be appreciated by many. Look up at the stars, she is there smiling and giving you a big thumbs up. Blessed family to have had her as Mom 🙏

    – Malthi Avani

  19. Sashi, I and Ranga still cherish the memories of our little trips with your In-laws. Aunty taught me how to make Mutton biryani and till date, that’s the only recipe I follow. We can never forget her loving smile.

    – Vinathi Lingala

  20. She is the most loving person and she invited ( Parijatha, Vinathi and me ) for lunch in Hyderabad with your family and Shashi your are lucky to have in-laws like uncle and aunty they build a strong bonding among all the siblings.

    – Kiran Thota

  21. Dear Sashi,
    The Eulogy you wrote for your mother in law speaks volumes about what an incredible woman she was.
    As a teenager, I met her in parties and pooja s and she always stood out for me out of everyone as a pleasant personality with a beautiful smile. As I remember her from my old memories of her, I have three words to describe her “humble” “respectful “ and “polite”. We will miss her.
    Life goes on and memories keep those few people we love close to us forever 💕
    May her soul Rest In Peace 🙏🏼
    I can’t fathom the fact that I am saying this for Indira Aunty.
    I pray to God to give you and your family the strength to cope with the loss, Sashi.
    We love u and will be there for u at this difficult time of your life.

    – Hema Mynam

  22. Sashi…. that was a stellar write up about Auntyji and what a perfect passing she had! I had goosebumps reading about the date and time (Ekadasi day & Brahma Muhurtham) that Auntyji chose to pass on. Truly amazing & undoubtedly a very evolved soul she was Sashi and i soo very wish i had known her!!!!

    Sashi…i am deeply saddened and sorry about the loss of your precious Athamma…heartfelt condolences to you, your family and all those who knew Auntiji.

Leave a comment